Welcome to “Head in the Cloud”!

How to kick off a personal blog? How about introducing myself? I did that on the About Me page of this blog.

So what am I going to write about? Well, since I am interested in a multitude of topics this blog will be somewhat chaotic – but that’s by design. I did not want to limit myself to just one topic (e.g. Cloud, Social Business or Food) or worse start a blog for each of the multiple topics that I’m interested in. I’ll use tags to differentiate the various blog post topics so if you’re only interested in one particular topic you can just filter by that tag.

Now what are some of the things that I intend to write about?

Cloud

As I am learning about Cloud deployment I will be updating what I learn here. Interesting papers, studies or lessons that I am learning personally will be discussed.

Social Business and Social Software Adoption inside and outside of the Enterprise

Naturally given my previous role at IBM this topic will get a lot of attention. I tend to read a lot of interesting articles and web sites and am planning to share what I learn from those. At IBM we are currently shifting our efforts from driving internal social business adoption to helping our thought leaders engage in the digital world. This includes Twitter, LinkedIn but also blogs. It also includes conversations with people who don’t work for IBM.

Anything Apple

Having converted my whole infrastructure from PC based to Apple based this is naturally a big area of interest for me. It all started in 2009 with the iPhone 3GS – I call the iPhone the gateway drug… Shortly thereafter I had a Mac Mini (still here), iPad, second iPad for my wife about a week later, MacBook Pro 15″, iPad 2 for my wife (mostly because of the camera for Skype and Facetime) and now a “new” iPad for me to replace my first generation iPad. I will not comment on rumors but on my personal experience with these devices.

IT Security

I am by no means a security expert (that’s actually another blog post) but I have developed quite an interest in this area. So I will share what I read and learn about how to keep our IT infrastructures safe. If this area interests you I can highly recommend Jeff Crume’s Blog (he is an IBM Distinguished Engineer on Internet Security).

Enjoy the blog!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

